ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves

Linkedin Twitter Youtube



IEEE AP-S Awards 2017

Each year the APS recognizes individuals or groups of individuals who have made an impact on technology or the society in distinct ways. The 2017 AP-S Awards are denoted by the Society's Field Awards and Best Paper Awards. The Field Awards recognize distinguished contributions based upon technical achievements and/or excellence in education and teaching. Recipients are determined based on nominations and recommendations from APS society members. The Best Paper Awards recognize outstanding contributions in the 2016 issues of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, the Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, and the Antennas and Propagation Magazine. Papers are evaluated based on recommendations from reviewers and the journal editors.

The recipients of the 2017 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Field Awards:

Distinguished Achievement Award

Ulrich L. Rohde

For pioneering work and contribution to the field of Antennas and Propagation, leading to development of wireless communication systems for industrial, military and space applications.


Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award

Yahia M. M. Antar

For dedicating his professional career to the education and training of highly qualified personnel.


John Kraus Award

Kwai-Man Luk

For contributions to the invention of the L-probe fed patch antenna and the magnetoelectric dipole antenna for wireless communications.


Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award

Francesca Vipiana

For contributions to computational electromagnetics, and in particular to the analysis of multi-scale problems.


Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics

Jian-Ming Jin

For outstanding contributions to the research and development of the finite element method for computational electromagnetics.


The recipients of the 2016 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Best Paper Awards:

Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award

M. Tamagnone and J. Mosig, "Theoretical Limits on the Efficiency of Reconfigurable and Non-Reciprocal Graphene Antennas," IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters Vol. 15, 1579, 2016


R. W. P. King Paper Award

L. Liang and S. Victor Hum, "Design of a UWB Reflectarray as an Impedance Surface Using Bessel Filters," IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation vol. 64, no. 10, 4242-4255, 2016


Harold A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award

D. J. Bisharat, S. Liao, and Q. Xue, “High Gain and Low Cost Differentially Fed Circularly Polarized Planar Aperture Antenna for Broadband Millimeter-Wave Applications,” IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation vol. 64, no.1, 33-42, 2016


Sergei A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award

N. Chahat, R. E. Hodges, J. Sauder, M. Thomson, E. Peral and Y. Rahmat-Samii, “CubeSat Deployable Ka-Band Mesh Reflector Antenna Development for Earth Science Missions,” IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 64, no. 6, 2083-2093, 2016


Edward E. Altschuler AP-S Magazine Prize Paper Award

A. Thain, J. P. Estienne, J. Robert, A. Herve, A. Piche, G. Peres, B. Pasquier, A. Jaber, L. Evain, F. Harly, B. Gutierres, H. Lenquette, B. Sinigaglia, and B. Spitz, "Stealth Buildings at Airbus Group Innovations: Low-cost solutions to radio perturbations," IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine issue 58, no. 1, pp. 16-27, February 2016