ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves

Linkedin Twitter Youtube



IEEE AP-S Awards 2022

Each year the APS recognizes individuals or groups of individuals who have made an impact on technology or the society in distinct ways. The 2022 AP-S Awards are denoted by the Society's Field Awards and Best Paper Awards. The Field Awards recognize distinguished contributions based upon technical achievements and/or excellence in education and teaching. Recipients are determined based on nominations and recommendations from APS society members. The Best Paper Awards recognize outstanding contributions in the 2021 issues of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, the Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, and the Antennas and Propagation Magazine. Papers are evaluated based on recommendations from reviewers and the journal editors.

2022 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Field Awards

Distinguished Achievement Award

Akhlesh Lakhtakia photoDr. Akhlesh Lakhtakia

For pioneering research on electromagnetic propagation in complex and nanoengineered materials.


Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award

Zhenghe Feng photoDr. Zhenghe Feng

For pioneering research in and seminal contributions to the development of substrate integrated antenna and array technologies and applications.


John Kraus Award

Ke Wu photoDr. Ke Wu

For pioneering research on electromagnetic propagation in complex and nanoengineered materials.


Donald G. Dudley Jr. Undergraduate Teaching Award

Sema Dumanli Oktar photoDr. Sema Dumanli Oktar

For excellence in promoting research in antennas and propagation among undergraduate students and great contributions to the guidance of early career researchers.


Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award

Dr. Yong-Mei Pan photoDr. Yong-Mei Pan

For contributions to the dielectric resonator antennas and filtering antennas.


Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics

Dr. Yahya Rahmat-SamiiDr. Yahya Rahmat-Samii

For fundamental contributions to the spectral theory of diffraction; hybrid method of moments and physical optics; and nature-inspired optimization techniques in diverse electromagnetics engineering applications.


2022 IEEE Ulrich L. Rohde Humanitarian Technical Field Project Award

Sampath Kumar Veeraraghavan

Sampath Kumar Veeraraghavan


2021 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Best Paper Awards

Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award

Ines DorschDominik SchwarzChristian Waldschmidt

Ines Dorsch, Dominik Schwarz, and Christian Waldschmidt, "A Switchable Biomimetic Antenna Array," IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters 20, no. 12 (2021): 2422-2426.


R. W. P. King Paper Award

Utkarsh R. Patel Eric Michielssen

Utkarsh R. Patel and Eric Michielssen, "Wigner–Smith Time Delay Matrix for Electromagnetics: Computational Aspects for Radiation and Scattering Analysis," IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69, no. 7 (2020): 3995-4010.


Harold A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award

Robert Lehmensiek Dirk de Villiers

Robert Lehmensiek and Dirk I.L. de Villiers, “An Optimal 18 m Shaped Offset Gregorian Reflector for the ngVLA Radio Telescope,” IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69, no. 12 (2021): 8282-8290.


Sergei A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award

Piero AngelettiJuan Lizarraga Cubillos

Piero Angeletti and Juan Lizarraga Cubillo, “Traffic Balancing Multibeam Antennas for Communication Satellites,” IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, 69, no. 12 (2021): 8291-8303.


Edward E. Altschuler AP-S Magazine Prize Paper Award

Branislav Notaroš

Branislav M. Notaroš, "Meteorological Electromagnetics: Optical and Radar Measurements, Modeling, and Characterization of Snowflakes and Snow," IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine 63, no. 2 (2021): 14-27.