ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves

Linkedin Twitter Youtube



IEEE AP-S Awards 2016

Each year the APS recognizes individuals or groups of individuals who have made an impact on technology or the society in distinct ways. The 2016 AP-S Awards are denoted by the Society's Field Awards and Best Paper Awards. The Field Awards recognize distinguished contributions based upon technical achievements and/or excellence in education and teaching. Recipients are determined based on nominations and recommendations from APS society members. The Best Paper Awards recognize outstanding contributions in the 2015 issues of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, the Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, and the Antennas and Propagation Magazine. Papers are evaluated based on recommendations from reviewers and the journal editors.

The recipients of the 2016 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Field Awards:

Distinguished Achievement Award

Hisamatsu Nakano

For in-depth electromagnetic analyses of antennas and for innovative antenna designs and their novel realizations for modern communication systems


Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award

Stefano Maci

For extraordinary impact in high-level education in the Antennas and Propagation community through the European School of Antennas


John Kraus Award

Yahya Rahmat-Samii

For significant contributions in advancing the analysis, design and measurement of modern reflector antennas for ground and space applications


Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award

Mojgan Daneshmand

For pioneering contribution to microwave-to-millimeter-wave microsystem-based antenna and microwave technologies for Communication and Sensing, and being a role model for women in Engineering


Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics

Jin-Fa Lee

For introducing innovative numerical methods to solve practical radiation and scattering problems in electromagnetics


The recipients of the 2015 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Best Paper Awards:

Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award

Mathew W.Lukacs, Angela J. Zeqollari, Peter J. Collins, Michael A. Temple, "RF-DNA Fingerprinting for Antenna Classification," IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters Vol. 14, pages 1455-1458, 2015.


R. W. P. King Paper Award

Lei Guo and Amin M. Abbosh, "Optimization-Based Confocal Microwave Imaging in Medical Applications," IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation Vol. 63, No. 8, pages 3531-3539, August 2015.


Harold A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award

Matthew A. Morgan and Tod A. Boyd, “A 10-100 GHz Double-Ridged Horn Antenna and Coax Launcher,” IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation Vol 63, No. 8, pages 3417-3422, August 2015.


Sergei A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award

Gabriele Minatti, Marco Faenzi, Enrica Martini, Francesco Caminita, Paolo De Vita, David González-Ovejero, Marco Sabbadini, Stefano Maci, “Modulated Metasurface Antennas for Space: Synthesis, Analysis and Realizations,” IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, Vol. 63, No. 4, pages 1288-1300, April 2015.


Edward E. Altschuler AP-S Magazine Prize Paper Award

Simon Henault and Yahia M. M. Antar, "Unifying the Theory of Mutual Coupling Compensation in Antenna Arrays," IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine Volume 57, No. 2, pages 104-122, April 2015.