ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves

Linkedin Twitter Youtube



IEEE AP-S Awards 2014

Each year the APS recognizes individuals or groups of individuals who have made an impact on technology or the society in distinct ways. The 2014 AP-S Awards are denoted by the Society's Field Awards and Best Paper Awards. The Field Awards recognize distinguished contributions based upon technical achievements and/or excellence in education and teaching. Recipients are determined based on nominations and recommendations from APS society members. The Best Paper Awards recognize outstanding contributions in the 2013 issues of the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, the Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, and the Antennas and Propagation Magazine. Papers are evaluated based on recommendations from reviewers and the journal editors.

The recipients of the 2014 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Field Awards are

Distinguished Achievement Award

John L. Volakis
For game-changing contributions to computational electromagnetics, radar scattering and antennas, and for educational leadership and service to the electromagnetics community


Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award


Eric Michielssen
In recognition of being an outstanding educator, mentor and role model for the next generation of faculty members


John Kraus Award


Stuart A. Long
For the introduction and development of the dielectric resonator antenna


Donald G. Dudley Jr. Undergraduate Teaching Award


Francesco P. Andriulli
For the excellence in advising undergraduate research and in the development of research inspired courses in applied and computational electromagnetics


Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award


Nuria Llombart
For her original contributions to terahertz antennas and quasi-optical systems, academic leadership, and proven role model for women in antenna engineering


Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics


Donald R. Wilton
For fundamental contributions to the method of moments in computational electromagnetics


2014 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Best Paper Awards

Piergiorgio L.E. Uslenghi Letters Prize Paper Award

Michael Selvanayagam and George V. Eleftheriades
Circuit Modeling of Huygens Surfaces, IEEE Antenna and Wireless Propagation Letters, vol.12, pp.1642-1645, 2013

R.W.P. King Award

Meng Li and Nader Behdad
Wideband True-Time-Delay Microwave Lenses Based on Metallo-Dielectric and All-Dielectric Lowpass Frequency Selective Surfaces, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol.61, no.8, pp.4109-4119, August 2013

Harold A. Wheeler Prize Paper Award

Qi Wu, Clinton P. Scarborough, Bonnie G. Martin, Robert K. Shaw, Douglas H. Werner, Erik Lier and Xiande Wang
A Ku-Band Dual Polarization Hybrid-Mode Horn Antenna Enabled by Printed-Circuit-Board Metasurfaces, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol.61, no.3, pp.1089-1098, March 2013

Sergei A. Schelkunoff Prize Paper Award

Zhen Peng, Kheng-Hwee Lim and Jin-Fa Lee
A Discontinuous Galerkin Surface Integral Equation Method for Electromagnetic Wave Scattering From Nonpenetrable Targets, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol.61, no.7, pp.3617-3628, July 2013

Edward E. Altshuler Prize Paper Award

Saeed I. Latif, Lotfollah Shafai and Cyrus Shafai
An Engineered Conductor for Gain and Efficiency Improvement of Miniaturized Microstrip Antennas, IEEE Antenna & Propagation Magazine, vol.55, no.2, pp.77-90, April 2013